MS and colds don’t mix

I kicked off 2016 dancing with friends and generally in a good mood. But soon after I went back to work I started noticing my throat going sore and my lungs burning with a tickling feeling. A lot of coughing ensued. And by a lot I mean a LOT. This wasn’t one of those colds where you just feel like you were hit by a bus for three days and then you’re fine. No, this was a mild enough a cold, except that it lasted for a whole long eight days. That means that for those eight days I barely slept because I couldn’t stop coughing.

I think you can imagine where this story is going. Fatigue hit me like I haven’t felt since I started taking Tecfidera, my good mood evaporated. Although my cold is gone by now, I still haven’t caught on all the sleep I missed. All I feel like doing is lay down, not think and not move a muscle. This feels like a major step back and not like a good start of the year.

To add insult to injury, endo pain decided to pay me a visit this month, adding a new layer of fatigue, back pain and pelvic pain just when I was beginning to feel better from the cold.

Dear universe, why you do this? I need to have a good year for a change…

I don’t usually catch colds or bugs. I usually say that my immune system is so top notch that it even does what it isn’t supposed to (ha-ha). But when I do catch something it really brings me down. I just feel like hibernating until it’s spring time again.

Speaking of which, though we’ve had enough rain here in Lisbon, we had one of the warmest autumns ever and it looks like we’re going to have one of the warmest winters too. And I think mother Nature may be a bit confused, because I went for a walk this past weekend and all I could see were little yellow flowers.

Maybe this year won’t be so bad after all.

2016-01-16 15.48.332016-01-16 15.52.53

6 thoughts on “MS and colds don’t mix

  1. Oh my gosh, I have been going through the exact same thing! I have had a “mild” cold with sniffles for over a week. It never seems to get really bad, but it isn’t going away and I am SO EXHAUSTED. I just want to sleep for days. I hate it that I have to take drugs to make me alert enough to be productive at work.

    Those are some beautiful flowers though!:)

    Like

  2. The body is amazing in it’s ability to heal, even when one thing comes right after another, even when the healing is a slow process. The photos are beautiful and full of good healing energy reminding you of the yellow flowers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

