“I hope you have the courage to break the sound barrier.”

I had to sleep 11 hours today out of exhaustion, and I know most people wouldn’t understand. Even if I told them I work full time and I’m currently going through changes at work, that I have classes at night and spend most of my weekends researching and writing my final paper for college, that I have to manage my apartment building affairs to which I was appointed this year, that I struggle with two chronic illnesses plus some mental issues, while trying to keep exercise and social life at an acceptable minimum, they would still go, “Oh, yes, my life is pretty rough too but I get by with seven hours of sleep.”

So this is a TEDx Talk I found that sums up in 15 minutes some of the things we chronic illness sufferers feel and go through. It’s about Lyme disease, but it could be about multiple sclerosis, endometriosis, mental illness and many other conditions. It’s worth taking a look.

One thought on ““I hope you have the courage to break the sound barrier.”

  1. I’m glad you were able to get 11 hours of sleep, because that’s exactly what you needed. I sometimes get by on 6 hours, but that is NOT healthy for me. Seven or eight is better. We deserve to take as much time as we need to rest and recharge.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

