In the land of what if’s

It started Sunday night. As I was saying goodbye to my mother after our usual Sunday dinner at her place, she mentioned she’d read somewhere that 7 am was the best hour to wake up. Something to do with sleep cycles. I jokingly said something like, “Unless you’re living with multiple sclerosis,” and reminded her that I didn’t use to have any trouble getting up in the morning before, but for the past years I can’t seem to get up. Sometimes the alarm rings every 5 minutes for half an hour and I simply don’t hear it. And then my mother said, “Yes, you changed a lot, but don’t forget you’re also taking things to sleep and those make it harder for you to get up.” I replied I’ve only been taking meds since 2011 and that my troubles started earlier, but as I went home I started thinking “What if?” What if the meds are taking even more of my energy than MS already does? Last year I stopped taking one of them and what happened was that two months later I was insomniac again, waking up at 2, 3 and 4 in the morning unable to go back to sleep again. That means I’m not leaving them anytime soon, but it got me thinking.

And then my what if’s snowballed. What if my fatigue is not solely MS-related? Endometriosis is said to cause fatigue, as well as depression and stress and anxiety disorders. Could my fatigue be the sum of all these causes? (No wonder I’m tired.) And what about brain fog? I spent Monday and Tuesday with a bad case of brain fog. It got so bad that at a certain point I realized I didn’t know how to do my job anymore, the one I studied for and have been doing for the past ten years. You see, among other things, I translate for a living, and after staring for hours at two pages I needed to translate I suddenly found myself thinking that Google Translator is an excellent tool. (If my next post is about me being fired you know what happened.) What if the meds are also contributing to brain fog? Or what if brain fog is simply caused by my lack of motivation, that on the other hand makes me spend most of the days daydreaming of better things and dissociating as a means to escape my normal life?

And what if I made up all these what if’s because I’m still in denial and looking for clues that tell me that after all I don’t have MS (they could have switched my MRI’s in the hospital with someone else’s) or that it isn’t so bad?

Jesus.

My health defies any logic. The only two things that usually lift my brain fog are lying down and resting, or taking a walk, preferably next to trees or water. On Monday, as I was too tired to go for a walk, I lay in bed a little before dinner. It seemed to make it worse. On Tuesday, I didn’t rest and instead went shopping. That seemed to do the trick, as on Wednesday my mind was clear. So the brain fog is either motivation-related, or my MS didn’t like the fall/winter collection and went into hiding.

My behavior also seems to defy logic. Yesterday there was a family dinner, and I suddenly heard myself cutting everyone off mid-sentence to tell them it was getting late and I needed to go. I usually have to think and gather my strengths before being this assertive, but last night it just came out naturally. And I didn’t feel guilty about it. After all, both my father and stepmother are retired, and my sister is taking these last days of August off, so I was the only one who needed to get up early today to go to work.

Last but not least, my therapist thinks I’ve been too focused on my health (seriously? lol) and that maybe we need to work on other areas, such as my social support network. But I’m still on hermit mode, so I’m not sure how that is going to turn out. Will keep you posted. 🙂

2 thoughts on “In the land of what if’s

  1. Oh…the “what ifs”. Drives me crazy. I do think there is logic in making sure you have a good social support network. But I’m probably not the most credible source on that topic, what with me blogging anonymously, giving thoughts on social support networks…

    Like

Leave a Reply

