What the Therapist Thinks About You

Have you ever wondered what your doctor or your therapist writes about you? And would you want to read it? I certainly have thought about it, though I’m not sure I would want to know. Probably my low self-esteem, my insecurities, and my lack of trust fear that my therapist is writing nasty things about me while telling me the opposite. Or maybe knowing my behavior patterns have names, some of them weird and scary, carries with it a sense of stigma I surely don’t want to feel. Besides, names make things sound definite, like you won’t be able to change them. On the other hand, maybe reading my therapist’s notes could give me a sense of progress, more structure, and possibly even a boost to my self-esteem. I don’t know.

Last night I saw on Twitter this New York Times article that debates the pros and cons of sharing physicians and therapists notes with patients. There are some very interesting points made there. For instance, one woman with multiple sclerosis “finds that her medical and mental health notes complement each other.” I also found interesting how some therapists are increasingly using the internet to connect and help their patients. Makes it look like a true team effort, and not like we’re people who cease to exist as soon as we leave the office.

What about you? Would you want to know?

2 thoughts on “What the Therapist Thinks About You

Leave a Reply

