Aggression turned inward

As someone who comes from a family with a history of mental illnesses and who has suffered from depression as well, I have read a lot of books, articles, and testimonies, not only in the first person but also from doctors and therapists. However, none had me nodding from beginning to end as this TED Talk by Andrew Solomon. The first ten minutes are particularly so accurate in giving us a panoramic view of all the different aspects of depression. I resonated with what he said about finding there were people who seemed on the surface to have what sounded like relatively mild depression who were nonetheless utterly disabled by it.” And he echoed as well many interrogations I’ve been struggling with: “if I have to take medication, is that medication making me more fully myself, or is it making me someone else? And how do I feel about it if it’s making me someone else?”

I didn’t know who Andrew Solomon was before watching this TED Talk by chance, but I did a little research and found out that the book he wrote on depression, called The Noonday Demon: An Atlas of Depression, won several awards, including the Books for a Better Life Award from the National Multiple Sclerosis Society. I haven’t read it yet but I already have it here with me. I hope it’s as poetic and insightful as this talk.

One thought on “Aggression turned inward

Leave a Reply

