Cure for insomnia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first time I remember waking up after a couple of hours of sleep and not being able to fall asleep again I must have been around 15. It’s possible though that my sleep issues started earlier, as I remember always being a light sleeper and always having agitated nights. 

Nowadays, when I think about insomnia I think about it as a chronic illness, as much as I think about multiple sclerosis and endometriosis. Because since I was since 15 I’ve tried everything you can possibly imagine to be able to sleep well. That included diet changes, meditation, yoga, exercise, not having anything in my bedroom except things associated with rest… you name it. The only thing that seems to work is medication. Unfortunately I need to be permanently medicated for insomnia because, as research suggests, my sleepless nights may have had a negative contribution to the development of my ms.

So, if anyone has suffered from insomnia like me and has found ways to manage it other than being medicated, I’d love to hear your comments. In the meantime I’ll leave you with Alfred Hitchcock’s insights about insomnia. 😉

2 thoughts on “Cure for insomnia

Leave a Reply

